PDA

View Full Version : Installation program and installed program not running on Vista



NewsArchive
01-16-2008, 01:57 AM
I have several customers once installled the program says "FXDA.EXE has
Stopped running" ... no friggin clue why or what is wrong, but on same OS
works fine on others.

is there something I am missing on the install on these machines or settings
on the OS before installation? I am installing as admin, even setup the exe
to run as admin?

any help is appreciated.


--
Andy <<Cowboy>> Stapleton
www.forexmgr.com
www.BlueCollarTradingSociety.com

NewsArchive
01-16-2008, 01:58 AM
Andy,

IMO, your FXDA.EXE application is not Vista-aware. That's why you see this
message - your application does not follow the new rules. The same will
happen under Windows Server 2008!

A few quick suggestions: make sure you embed a Vista-aware manifest and
request "asInvoker" privileges for your main application file. Code-sign
your application. Do not try to write to restricted and protected areas
(e.g. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, c:\windows, c:\, c:\program files), check if your
app makes use of protected APIs or features (e.g. WinSock functions can only
be used if the application runs elevated). In short, you have to provide a
"mixed-mode" application for Vista/Windows Server 2008 that works in both
Admin and Standard User modes.

Hope this helps.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
01-17-2008, 01:55 AM
that would be nice ,if I know how <g>

can you direct me into a simple way to do this? or someone have an example
program that does it?
and it is my understanding that code-signing you pay for?


--
Andy <<Cowboy>> Stapleton
www.forexmgr.com
www.BlueCollarTradingSociety.com

NewsArchive
01-17-2008, 01:55 AM
Andy,

> that would be nice ,if I know how <g>
>
> can you direct me into a simple way to do this? or someone have an example
> program that does it?
> and it is my understanding that code-signing you pay for?

:) First of all, add a Vista-aware manifest to your main application. You
can do this from Clarion during the compilation process or you can let
SetupBuilder do it for you. If your application does not provide a
Vista-aware manifest, Vista treats it as a legacy application. This can
result in "application has stopped working" error.

To add a Vista-aware manifest to your application from SetupBuilder, the
#embed Vista manifest directive lets you specify the minimum execution level
required by your application for running on Windows Vista platforms. The
SetupBuilder compiler embeds a Windows Vista-aware application manifest in
your application. This manifest specifies the selected execution level and
can therefore include the necessary requestedExecutionLevel attributes,
allowing the application to run with the desired privilege level on Windows
Vista. Operating systems earlier than Windows Vista ignore the required
execution level.

SetupBuilder provides the capability to automatically embed an XML
application manifest file within the resource section of a Portable
Executable (PE) image. When the program is launched, the application
manifest information will be extracted from the resource section of the PE
and used by the operating system.

To code-sign your application from SetupBuilder, the "#code-sign
application" directive lets you add an Authenticode digital signature to an
application file. Digital Certificates verify that the application is
authentic, by private keys and digital signatures. You must have a valid
commercial certificate to use this feature.

You have to pay for such a certificate. A Verisign Code Signing Digital ID
costs $1,295 for 3 years. A Thawte Code Signing Digital ID costs $549 for 2
years. Lindersoft customers can get a 3-Year Comodo certificate for $200.

http://www.lindersoft.com/products_security_services.htm

Then also make sure you do not write to the restricted areas
(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, c:\program files, c:\windows, etc.).

Does this help?

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
01-17-2008, 01:56 AM
I don't have any templates with Setup builder to use inside my Clarion for
this, was I supposed to recieve something?

I saw where your selling it,
http://www.icons-icons.com/article-200702-vista-code-signing.php<g>

google is great.


--
Andy <<Cowboy>> Stapleton
www.forexmgr.com
www.BlueCollarTradingSociety.com

NewsArchive
01-17-2008, 01:56 AM
Andy,

No, SetupBuilder does not do anything with templates.

BTW, we do not sell Comodo certificates. We have partnered with Comodo to
provide qualified Lindersoft customers with access to discounted
certificates. This is a Lindersoft customer service. Comodo, Inc. handles
the ordering systems and identity verification.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner