PDA

View Full Version : Requests



NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:08 AM
I have two requests...

(1) I have five EXE's in my installation. It would be nice I could have
SetupBuilder apply my digital certificate automatically before building the
installation. Right now I use SignTool.exe manually for all five of them.

(2) I use a license activation system that communicates over the Internet
(andof course the web update program). It would be nice to have a way to
automatically set up a firewall exception to these EXE files.

Mike

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:09 AM
1. It can. Use the #code-sign application Compiler Directive.

Jane

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:09 AM
Michael

What Jane says is true :)

I had 135 files to code sign for my Microsoft applications and all was done
with SB and codesigning function



--
Thank you

Cordialement - Best regards
Jean-Pierre GUTSATZ

CGF

Data Management Center - A tool to let you Migrate Import Export Transfer
all your Data very easily
www.dmc-fr.com
Certified by Microsoft : "Works with Vista" & "Works with Windows Server
2008"

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:10 AM
Hi Michael,

>(1) I have five EXE's in my installation. It would be nice I could have
>SetupBuilder apply my digital certificate automatically before building the
>installation. Right now I use SignTool.exe manually for all five of them.

Already there:) Under "Compiler Directive" it's the first choice:
"#code-sign application..."

You can code sign multiple exe/dlls. I do it right after embedding
the vista manifest. Here is an example from one of my installs:

[ Initialize Setup ]
! --- Define commonly used constants ---
#include script "Common Definitions.sbi"
#embed Vista manifest into "C:\Products\ITSpecialFolder\Latest\Program
Files\SpecialFolders.exe" [asInvoker]
#code-sign application "C:\Products\ITSpecialFolder\Latest\Program
Files\SpecialFolders.exe" [Skip]

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:11 AM
What is the difference between compiling a manifest that Clarion generates
into the EXE and embedding a "Vista" manifest ?

Mike

PS: If I need to keep reading some stuff I'm game.

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:12 AM
Hi Michael,

>What is the difference between compiling a manifest that Clarion generates
>into the EXE and embedding a "Vista" manifest ?

The Clarion manifest is XP only. It can not set the execution level
which is needed on Vista to indicate asInvoker, highestAvailable or
requireAdministrator. This is why you should not link the XP manifest
into your clarion app, rahter set it to "Generate Manifest" which then
creates a appname.exe.manifest file for you so that you can still see
the XP themed controls while developing. You do not distribute the
.manifest file, rather let SB manifest the exe so that it's vista
ready.

See the "#embed Vista manifest" topic in the SetupBuilder help:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:13 AM
> What is the difference between compiling a manifest that Clarion generates
> into the EXE and embedding a "Vista" manifest ?

Mike,

According to what Friedrich has said in the past, there is no difference,
HOWEVER, follow these instructions in the SB help

"Use this function only on application files that do not already have an
embedded manifest. For example, make sure the "Include Default XP Manifest"
App Settings option in your Clarion 6 or Clarion 7 Environment is turned
off."

A lot of SB users choose to NOT use the Clarion provided method, and use
the SB method instead.

Also, the order to follow in using something like Armadillo is this:

Embed Vista manifest
call batch file to Armadillo protect
Codesign the app

BTW, SoftDefense, an amazing tool to incorporate ALL of this PLUS MUCH
more, including VERY sophisticated Armadillo protection methods, will be
introduced shortly by Charles Edmonds of LANSRAD!

And, using the SB manifest covers both Vista AND XP.

David


--
From David Troxell - Product Scope 7 - Encourager Software
Clarion Third Party Profile Exchange Online
http://encouragersoftware.com/profile/clarlinks.html
http://www.encouragersoftware.com/
http://www.profileexchanges.com/blog/

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:14 AM
Hi David,

>According to what Friedrich has said in the past, there is no difference,
>HOWEVER, follow these instructions in the SB help

There is difference between the generated Clarion manifests (XP) and
the Vista manifests. Here is an example Vista manifest, grabbed from
one of the MSDN forum:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly
xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
processorArchitecture="x86"
version="5.6.0.0"
type="win32"
name="elevcc.exe"/>
<description>Control Center Elevation Launcher</description>
<dependency>
<dependentAssembly>
<assemblyIdentity
type="win32"
name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
version="6.0.0.0"
publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
language="*"
processorArchitecture="x86"/>
</dependentAssembly>
</dependency>
<trustInfo xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v3">
<security>
<requestedPrivileges>
<requestedExecutionLevel
level="requireAdministrator"
uiAccess="false"/>
</requestedPrivileges>
</security>
</trustInfo>
</assembly>

The important part here is the <trustInfo> tag, which makes it a vista
manifest.

Here is an example manifest created by Clarion 6.3:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
version="1.0.0.0"
processorArchitecture="X86"
name="SoftVelocity.Clarion7.Application"
type="win32"
/>
<description>Clarion 7 application.</description>
<dependency>
<dependentAssembly>
<assemblyIdentity
type="win32"
name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
version="6.0.0.0"
processorArchitecture="X86"
publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
language="*"
/>
</dependentAssembly>
</dependency>
</assembly>

Notice that the manifest says Clarion7.application? No idea why
because this is generated with Clarion 6.3 build 9053;)

But as you can see this manifest does not contain the <trustInfo> tag,
which would make this manifest be interpreted as "asInvoker" I believe
under vista, i.e. you can not set the application to elevate to
administrator.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:15 AM
> Hi David,
>
>>According to what Friedrich has said in the past, there is no difference,
>>HOWEVER, follow these instructions in the SB help
>
> There is difference between the generated Clarion manifests (XP) and
> the Vista manifests. Here is an example Vista manifest, grabbed from
> one of the MSDN forum:

Arnór,

Thanks for the detailed explanation and correction - I realized AFTER I
posted that the original discussion was referring to the XP manifest, and
as I responded I was only thinking Vista manifest - supplied of course, by
SetupBuilder Developer Edition and later builds of Clarion 6.x.

Since the Vista manifest covers both Vista and XP, it would make sense to
include it, whether by SB or later builds of Clarion 6.x. I prefer SB.

David


--
From David Troxell - Product Scope 7 - Encourager Software
Clarion Third Party Profile Exchange Online
http://encouragersoftware.com/profile/clarlinks.html
http://www.encouragersoftware.com/
http://www.profileexchanges.com/blog/

NewsArchive
03-01-2008, 04:16 AM
There is no better answer than to tell me I missed the obvious!

Mike

NewsArchive
03-02-2008, 07:13 AM
Arnor,

I might be wrong but it seems DMC compiled with a clarion manifest
unchecking the XP part let's me use the run asAdmin in it
When installed under Vista normal user logged in the link on desktop and exe
in explorer both shows the small shield next to it....
And when in the exe running I cannot drag and drop from the explorer which
as Friedrich explained is because that is at lower level then the exe which
is in admin

Plus I see all the system dsn of the machine which I do not see when exe is
run normally

........

--
Thank you

Cordialement - Best regards
Jean-Pierre GUTSATZ

CGF


Data Management Center - A tool to let you Migrate Import Export Transfer
all your Data very easily
www.dmc-fr.com
Certified by Microsoft : "Works with Vista" & "Works with Windows Server
2008"

NewsArchive
03-03-2008, 01:30 AM
Hi Guys,

Thank you very much.

With your comments combined with reading Jane's articles at ClarionMag again
I'm doing OK.

I definitely do not want to XP look when the software is running under XP so
I'mm be using one of Jane's recommended manifests with mods for my
application name and description.

Mike

NewsArchive
03-03-2008, 01:30 AM
Glad you're getting it sorted out, Mike.

Just keep repeating: "Even with Vista, this beats having a real job..."
<g>

Jane