PDA

View Full Version : .NET dependency



NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:23 PM
Hi Friedrich,

If I'm installing a .NET application to a computer that doesn't have
the .NET 2.0 framework installed, what options does SB have in order
to download and install the framework?

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:24 PM
Hi Arnór,

You have several different options. We have developed this for the Clarion
7 project:

http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=9546#post9546

Does this help?

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:25 PM
Friedrich,

This sounds different than the redistribution manager. Comments?


--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype Clarion chat: http://tinyurl.com/2273lm

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:25 PM
Hi Russ,

>
> This sounds different than the redistribution manager. Comments?
>

Yes, because the "standard" Core PreRequisite compiles the .NET2
redistributable into the setup.exe. But in this case, it downloads the
..NET2 redistributable from the Internet (only if it is NOT already
installed).

The svnet2.exe (SoftVelocity .NET2 installer) in the example is nothing more
than a code-signed wrapper for the Microsoft .NET2 redistributable. The
project that compiles svnet2.exe has only one line:

#include script "rt_dotnetframework2_x86.sbi" [Custom Configuration]

The above "rt_dotnetframework2_x86.sbi" comes from the SetupBuilder
redistribution manager and compiles a "silent" .NET redistributable.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:26 PM
Just so I understand, if I include that script then its installed only when
needed? If so, how is this different that your forum post?

Enquiring minds..


--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype Clarion chat: http://tinyurl.com/2273lm

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:27 PM
Hi Russ,

> Just so I understand, if I include that script then its installed only
> when needed? If so, how is this different that your forum post?
>
> Enquiring minds..

The "standard" Core PreRequisite is compiled into the setup.exe and
installed only when needed.

But the script screenshot in the forum post is smarter. It does NOT compile
the 23 MB redistributable into the setup.exe - you have no .NET2 framework
redistributably overhead in your installer ;-) Instead, your setup.exe
detects that the .NET2 framework is not installed and provides an option to
download and install it from your site!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:28 PM
Hi Friedrich,

>You have several different options. We have developed this for the Clarion
>7 project:
>
>http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=9546#post9546
>
>Does this help?

YES. I remembered something about this was posted a while ago but
couldn't remember where or when. I think that's exactly the thread I
was looking for:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
04-01-2008, 12:30 PM
That's the bit of data that was missing! Thanks, I understand now. ;-)


--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype Clarion chat: http://tinyurl.com/2273lm