PDA

View Full Version : External Manifest



NewsArchive
04-28-2008, 01:26 AM
Friedrich,

I can't get the manifest to work on my XP development machine as
described below.

How do you create the External Manifest file? Does Clarion create it?
Where can I find it? When I create files they are empty, is it
magically filled as the application loads?

Thanks,
George Riddell.


Hanspeter Stutz wrote:
> Hi Charles (or Friedrich),
>
>> The simple solution is that you add an External Manifest file into your
>> application folder.
>>
>> Just name it as "YourAppName.exe.manifest".
>
> Your way sounds pretty easy and logical and it let me feel pretty
stupid :-) ! No matter what I do my application won't get the XP/Vista
look until I check "Link generated Manifest in Project" in the global
settings.
>

NewsArchive
04-28-2008, 01:27 AM
> How do you create the External Manifest file?
> Where can I find it?

If you search for *.manifest you should find several on your machine. Any
of them will do.

Attached is the one I use with SoftDefense.

Just rename it as:

YourExeName.exe.manifest


> When I create files they are empty, is it
> magically filled as the application loads?

Not sure what you mean there.


Charles



--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds
www.pagesnip.com - "Print and Save the Web, just the way you want it!"
www.clarionproseries.com - "Serious imaging tools for Clarion Developers"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms!"
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
04-28-2008, 01:28 AM
I found a lot of *.manifest files!

Thanks Charles and Arnór.

George Riddell

NewsArchive
04-28-2008, 01:29 AM
Hi George,

>I can't get the manifest to work on my XP development machine as
>described below.
>
>How do you create the External Manifest file? Does Clarion create it?
>Where can I find it? When I create files they are empty, is it
>magically filled as the application loads?

What build of Clarion are you using? The method is slightly different
on 9058 than earlier builds. The setting is in the "Application |
Global Properties" - "App Settings" tab. On 9058 you click on the
"XP/Vista Manifest" button, check "Generate Manifest". Unfortunately
the manifest in 9058 is not created correctly, but there is a fix
floating around. http://www.icetips.com/files/VistaManifest.zip

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
04-28-2008, 01:30 AM
George,

> I can't get the manifest to work on my XP development machine as described
> below.
>
> How do you create the External Manifest file? Does Clarion create it?
> Where can I find it? When I create files they are empty, is it magically
> filled as the application loads?

What Charles and Arnór said. A tyical external XP manifest looks like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<assembly
xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1"
manifestVersion="1.0">
<assemblyIdentity
processorArchitecture="x86"
version="1.0.0.0"
type="win32"
name="test.exe"/>
<description>Test Application</description>
<dependency>
<dependentAssembly>
<assemblyIdentity
type="win32"
name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls"
version="6.0.0.0"
publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df"
language="*"
processorArchitecture="x86"/>
</dependentAssembly>
</dependency>
</assembly>

The above is NOT a Vista manifest. And for applications that run on Vista,
you should always embed a Vista-aware manifest into the application and then
code-sign. SetupBuilder can do this for you automatically.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
04-29-2008, 03:01 AM
Thanks Friedrich and Hanspeter and all you guys on the SB support team,
it makes sense now.

I have been using SetupBuilder to create Vista manifests and then
code-signing my apps - no problems there. What I couldn't figure from
all the threads, was the manifest location. The funny thing is I've
been searching for files for many years, shocking isn't it.

George Riddell.