PDA

View Full Version : Can you add Vista Starter as an exclusionoption please



NewsArchive
05-12-2008, 11:52 AM
If you are developing a program that requires conditional coding for Windows
Vista Starter, the following code that uses the GetProductInfo API detects
that Windows Vista Starter is running.

DWORD dwRetProductType = 0;
DWORD dwOSMajorVersion = 6;
DWORD dwOSMinorVersion = 0;
DWORD dwSpMajorVersion = 0;
DWORD dwSpMinorVersion = 0;
BOOL bRetCode = FALSE;

bRetCode = GetProductInfo(dwOSMajorVersion,
dwOSMinorVersion,
dwSpMajorVersion,
dwSpMinorVersion,
&dwRetProductType);

if(bRetCode != 0)
{

if(dwRetProductType == PRODUCT_STARTER)
{
/*
Running on Windows Vista Starter
*/
}
}

Sharing
A computer that is running Windows Vista Starter cannot share its resources
with other computers, but can access the resources on other computers that
are running a Windows operating system other than Windows Vista Starter. For
example, hosting a file share on a system running Windows Vista Starter is
not possible.

Program Limit
If you are developing programs for Windows Vista Starter, it is important to
take the three program limit into consideration. A maximum of three programs
(Win32 processes) that have visible top-level windows can be open at once.
For each program, an unlimited number of windows can be opened for each
program.

kind Regards

Ben

NewsArchive
05-12-2008, 11:54 AM
Ben,

> If you are developing a program that requires conditional coding for
> Windows Vista Starter, the following code that uses the GetProductInfo
> API detects that Windows Vista Starter is running.
<SNIP>

See attached script to detect Windows Vista Starter (and other Vista product
types).

What do you think?

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
05-12-2008, 11:54 AM
Now that is why they invented the term.... BRILLIANT ....

They were refering to you !
(Some time later we will find out who 'they' are .....)

Kind regards

Ben

NewsArchive
05-15-2008, 01:34 AM
We have added a built-in "Windows Product Info" option to the "Get System
Information" function now. This will be available in the next build.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.7
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner