+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Checking an Installed Program

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Checking an Installed Program

Hi all, I'm a bit new with this great product and require your assistance in two little issues.

1* I'm trying to create a patch for a computer game by the help of SetupBuilder. All seems good for now but I don't want my installer runs, if this game is not installed in that pc. Before starting, it must check that is this game installed or not. How can I make it?

2* And I want to make the installer find where this game is installed. It must find the installed directory and patch it without question about where to install. Could you please help me about these subjects?

Thanks in advance

Default Re: Checking an Installed Program

Hello,

First of all, thank you for your kind words and welcome to SetupBuilder !!!

What you are trying to do is absolutely no problem with SetupBuilder. But before I can answer your question, I have one for you

Does your current application installation makes use of the standard method to register itself with Windows (using a Product GUID)? In other words, do you have registered an uninstall application with Windows? The standard location for this is in the following section of the Windows registry:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Uninstall

Or for 32-bit applications on a Windows x64 operating system:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\WOW6432node\Microsoft\ Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall

If this is the case, then you only have to use one script function to handle it all (I'll then provide an example). If you do not use this standard method, do you write the installation folder to the Windows registry on your own?

Friedrich

Thank you very much