All,

I have one Windows 7 machine (not connected to any production environment in our office and even running on a separate Internet connection to be on the super safe side) for visiting "Warez" websites. I am using this Windows 7 machine to scan the Internet for illegal copies of our SetupBuilder product. I've been doing this for ten years, so I know what I am doing. The machine is Symantec Endpoint protected and the virus definition always up-to-date.

Last Friday evening, I powered the *Warez* machine off and went home. This morning I came in the office to find that computer... running. Hmmm, what happened? On Saturday afternoon, it automatically powered on and the CryptoWall Trojan horse (an adsense ad infected the machine) encrypted files using the military grade encryption RSA-2048. You must have the private key in order to get your .doc, .txt, .xls, .bmp, .png, .jpg, .pdf, image and video files decrypted and the software will hold your files hostage until a ransom in Bitcoin is paid. It will also attack every mapped network drive, external drive, or USB flash drive until its mission is complete.

Be warned, this improved CryptoWall variant is very dangerous !!! Backup your machines, protect your hard work. Tell your customers about it.

If you are interested, this is my *PRODUCTION* environment for maximum safety and damage prevention:

My main development machine is a Dell Precision M6600 Mobile Workstation with 32 GB RAM. Internal Samsung SSD 850 1 TB and SanDisk SSD Extreme Pro 960 GB. Then an external Samsung SSD 850 1 TB, a Transcend SSD370 512 GB and a SanDisk Extreme Pro 128 GB flash drive USB 3.0 for fast backups. On top of this, we have several traditional spinning 2.5-Inch hard drives (HDD) for regular backup rotation stored in three different locations. About 30 TB of storage space.