+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hi,

    I wanted to create my product which will look for new updates and then download them and install them. I was trying same with SB10 and I am unable to do so. What I have done is create a product with version 1.0.0 with Enable web update and install web update client, and now running WUPDATE.EXE to check how it works. I have given as shared drives IP address as host address. am I doing wrong?
    Is Download File Function only work with http or https? what if i want to use with shared drive? or on my machine only for testing??or ftp? how to use it?
    All in one I want to achieve Auto updater application, if my new version is on some shared drive or web site then what I need to do?
    I am not much detailed aware about auto updater in SB so it will helpful if you help me with the process.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    WUPDATE.EXE (and WUCKECK.EXE) make use of a HTTP server.

    Download File functions only work with HTTP or HTTPS. To copy from a shared drive, you can use "Copy File(s)..."

    Does this help?

    Friedrich

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    I am checking WUPDATE_SSL.EXE and for testing I have kept ini file at dropbox now I am getting "Cannot download server manifest file.Network Communication Error: 509000004", even I have tried #pragma HTTP_DISABLE_SNI = "1" in product and WUPDATE_SSL.sbp as well.

    below is the ini file
    [WUPDATE]
    LOCAL_APP=CheckWebUpdate1.0
    LOCAL_VERSION=1.0.0
    LOCAL_CHECK=1
    LOCAL_LAST=0
    HOST_ADDRESS=www.dropbox.com
    HOST_PORT=80
    HOST_DIRECTORY=qas
    HOST_INI=qasmanifest
    HOST_USERNAME=dropboxusername
    HOST_PASSWORD=dropboxpassword
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    Port 80 is not a SSL port. Please use the correct port (e.g. 443) for your SSL enabled server. Is your dropbox.com a SSL enabled server?

    Friedrich

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    I guess yes, dropbox.com is SSL enabled as it uses https. I tried with 443 port, when I execute WUPDATE_SSL.EXE and click on next nothing happens, WUPDATE_SSL window gets closed. However empty qasmanifest file gets created/downloaded, at server location file does have contents. I tried to debug script for WUPDATE_SSL ,then I got below error for Download File function(line no 252).

    Even normally I tried to download the ini file from other sbp project using Download File function, getting same below error.


    ---------------------------
    Web Update Client
    ---------------------------
    GPF detected! The installer will shut down now.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    can you download the manifest with your browser? IMO, your configuration is incorrect. The SetupBuilder SSL feature is used on quite a few million apps and is working as expected.

    If possible, post the link to your manifest and I will develop a demo download script for you.

    Friedrich

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    It would be really great if you help us with demo application. Please find attachment for the files in my folder, there are two files 1) INI/manifest file-qasmanifest 2) 2.0 exe file-CheckWebUpdate2.0.exe. My 1.0 and 2.0 test products is just an c# console application.
    I have created shareable link for both of them and folder as well:
    qas folder-> https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xhrso8iu6...aTkmoDR5a?dl=0
    manifest->https://www.dropbox.com/s/bnh8mbjm7n...smanifest?dl=0
    2.0 exe->https://www.dropbox.com/s/q7ij0s2ept...te2.0.exe?dl=0

    please let me know if you need anything else.

    Thanks!



    Name:  a.png
Views: 159
Size:  22.1 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Hello,

    when I click your link to your manifest then it displays all kind of dialogs and asks me to login. So IMO, this is not a direct link to the file and some kind of redirection is taking place.

    It should look like similar to this:

    https://www.setupbuilder.com/test.ini

    Friedrich

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Thank you very much Friedrich !!


    The issue was with the ini file, its working now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,241

    Default Re: How do I create setup with Auto Updater

    Perfect! Thanks so much for the update.

    Friedrich

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •