+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to create msi executable package using SB10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default How to create msi executable package using SB10

    Hello,

    I just want to create msi executable output package instead of exe, can you please help me?


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,238

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    Hello,

    SetupBuilder creates native high-performance Windows executables (.exe). You can embed such an .exe into a .msi using the "#exe2msi" directive (if you have to). Please see the "exe2msi Demo.sbp" Example project.

    Friedrich

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    Have you attached demo sbp file?

    I tried using pragma however I am getting below error.
    Name:  a.png
Views: 135
Size:  19.4 KB

    Name:  b.png
Views: 139
Size:  43.5 KB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    I had given wrong msi output path, it worked now.

    If I install exe then entry in Add/Remove programs gets added but not happened when installed msi file, any idea?

    I have one sbp for main product and other sbp project to convert exe to msi, so do I have to set settings in exetomsi convert project as well to add entry in add or remove programs? tried this as well, didnt worked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,238

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    Please try the "UAC compliant" switch.

    Friedrich

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    Hello,

    I have tried that, as in our product we need to install service so we have kept Execution Level to requireAdministartor, and when msi is created with "UAC compliant" switch then while installing msi we get error shown in image. I tried to execute msi file from administrator command prompt then msi gets installed but no entry in Add/Remove programs of windows.

    Name:  a.png
Views: 129
Size:  22.1 KB

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Pune, India
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: How to create msi executable package using SB10

    I had set $SB_ALLUSERSFLAG$ to 0 thats why it was not working, sorted now.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •